Academic Council Minutes June 18, 2014

The Academic Council did not meet on June 18, 2014. However, the agenda was distributed to the Council electronically and voting members responded with their vote to adopt or not adopt the New Business agenda items. The agenda was distributed to the following:

Voting members

- Dr. Matthew Capps, Dean, Gordon T. and Ellen West College of Education
- Dr. Deborah Garrison, Associate Vice President for Academic Affairs and Dean of the Graduate School
- Dr. James Johnston, Dean, Robert D. and Carol Gunn College of Health Sciences and Human Services
- Dr. Lynn Little, Dean, College of Science and Mathematics
- Dr. Terry Patton, Dean, Dillard College of Business Administration
- Dr. Laura Fidelie, Faculty Senate Vice Chair
- Dr. Jim Sernoe, Interim Dean, Lamar D. Fain College of Fine Arts
- Dr. Sam Watson, Dean, Prothro-Yeager College of Humanities and Social Sciences
- Student Government Association Vice President (term ended 5/14)

Non-voting members

- Ms. Naoma Clark, Director, Academic Support Center
- Ms. Reagan Foster, Staff Senate Representative
- Ms. Darla Inglish, Registrar
- Ms. Linda Knox, Assistant Registrar
- Dr. Clara Latham, University Librarian
- Ms. Julian Lehman-Felts, Coordinator, Honors Program
- Mr. Matthew Park, Associate Vice President for Student Affairs and Dean of Students
- Ms. Leah Vineyard, Interim Director of Admissions
- Dr. Larry Williams, Director, International Programs

New Business

1. Reassignment of the BAAS Program (Information Item: no vote required.)

Effective August 1, 2014, the BAAS Program will be reassigned from the Prothro-Yeager College of Humanities and Social Sciences to the Gordon T. and Ellen West College of Education. The BAAS Program will report to the Dean of the West College of Education. This change will not affect the BAAS degree.

2. Update to the BAAS Advisory Committee, effective August 1, 2014. (Information Item: no vote required.)

- A. Add a faculty representative to the personnel/voting members of the committee.
- B. Add the Dean of the West College of Education as a Non-Voting Member.

BAAS Advisory Committee	
Purpose:	To advise the Director of BAAS on matters of curriculum, admissions, and completion requirements; to assist in the development of criteria and
	procedures for evaluating and awarding academic credit for non-traditional
	learning experiences; to assist in the development of a program
	assessment; and to hear student appeals.
Personnel:	One faculty member from Education, two Two faculty members from
	Humanities and Social Sciences, one from Science and Mathematics; one
	from Fine Arts, one from Business Administration, and one from Health
	Sciences and Human Services. Members of the committee will select the
	committee Chair for a two-year term. The Dean of the College of
	Education, the Director of BAAS, and the Assistant Director of the
	BAAS Program will serve as non-voting members.
Reports to:	Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs
Voting Members:	
Faculty – BA	
Faculty - EDUC	
Faculty – FA	
Faculty – HSHS	
Faculty – HSS	
Faculty – HSS	
Faculty – SM	
Non-Voting Members:	
Dean, College of Education	
Director of BAAS	
Assistant Director, BAAS	

3. A majority of the voting members approved the adoption of a proposal from Dr. Garrison for the creation of a new committee, the University Celebration of Scholarship Committee, effective Fall 2014. *(closed)*

University Celebration of Scholarship Committee	
Purpose:	To plan, implement, and evaluate the MSU Celebration of Scholarship. This celebration is inclusive of all types of scholarship and incorporates a broad range of events, including the Scholarship Colloquium for faculty and graduate student presentations; the Undergraduate Research and Creative Activities (EURECA) Forum, the showcase of the EURECA Quality Enhancement Project; the Performing Arts Expressions event showcasing theatrical, musical, and dramatic readings; and other activities that the committee shall propose.
Personnel:	Seven full-time faculty members, two students (one graduate and one undergraduate), and the Director of Undergraduate Research or designee. One faculty member shall be recommended by the dean of each of the six colleges. One faculty member shall be recommended by the Faculty Senate to serve as a liaison. The Associate Vice President for Academic Affairs and Dean of the Graduate School shall serve as a non-voting member of the committee and will convene the first meeting. A chair shall be elected from among the full-time faculty members.
Reports to:	Associate Vice President for Academic Affairs and Dean of the Graduate School
Voting Members	

Full-time Faculty	
Full-time Faculty	
Student Graduate	
Student Undergraduate	
Director of Undergraduate	
Research or designee	
Non-Voting Member	
Associate Vice President for	
Academic Affairs and Dean	
of the Graduate School	

Respectfully submitted,

Deb Schulte, Assistant to the Provost