Mission Statement:

The mission of the Department of Computer Science is to provide a source of knowledge to students in preparation for work in the computing field or for entry into graduate programs in computing and related disciplines. The department provides classroom, laboratory, and discovery experiences which emphasize theory, application, and contemporary research in the computing sciences. Graduates of the department are supported by a liberal arts education and are prepared to be productive members of society.

Computer Science Program Overview:

The Computer Science Program at MSU prepares students for exciting career opportunities in computing. Computer science majors complete a curriculum which is based on fundamental concepts in computing. Such a curriculum enables our graduates to obtain financially rewarding positions in today's job market and easily adapt to the changing requirements of tomorrow's computing industry.

Computer Science Degrees:

MSU Texas offers four different degree options in Computer Science:

Requires 54 semester hours in computer science, 9 hours of mathematics/statistics (MATH 1233 College Algebra, MATH 1433 Plane Trigonometry, and STAT 3573 Probability and Statistics)

Requires 54 semester hours in computer science, 23-35 hours of mathematics (including Calculus I and II, and one upper-level elective), and 8 hours of physics.

The primary goal of the program is to reduce the time required to earn both baccalaureate and graduate degrees by allowing students in their senior year to begin their graduate studies and to earn credit for the BS by examination.  Only well-qualified MSU undergraduate students will be admitted, and students must apply before their senior year.

The MS is ideal for students seeking advanced training to expand their knowledge of computer science or as an option for individuals with undergraduate preparation in fields other than computing. The MS requires 15 graduate hours of core computer science courses and allows for two options:  30-hour MS or 33-hour MS. 

Minor in Computer Science:

MSU Texas offers four different minors in Computer Science:

  • Computer Science
  • Computational Science
  • Cybersecurity
  • High Performance Computing